Council for Business with Britain Hosts 2016 AGM

“..If access to EU markets becomes more difficult, then our trade with other countries around the world will become correspondingly more important…” says James Dauris at the 16th AGM of the Council for Business with Britain

The 16th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Council for Business with Britain under the aegis of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce (CCC) was held recently at Westminster House electing Karim Schadlou as the Chairman. The Chief Guest being the British High Commissioner, H. E. James Dauris.

Addressing the members, the newly elected President Mr. Karim Schadlou, General Manager of Hilton Colombo Residences, spelled as his the main objectives are to promote Bilateral Trade, Investment, Technical & Economic Co-Operation, Tourism and Services between Sri Lanka & UK, and also the establishment of Joint Ventures. He further stressed the need that CBB to serve as a recognized representatives of business sector interests in Sri Lanka with the support of the British High Commission whilst maintaining a good rapport with the local Government Bodies, British Council and UKTI. He also said that all the activities done by CBB will be continued; such as English Language Training Program and all the other events.

As Vice Chairperson - Ms. Tania Polonnawita Wettimuny, Managing Director, Hellmann Worldwide Logistics (Pvt) Ltd., Hony. Secretary- Ms. Ameena Mariam Ziaudeen, Director Norfolk Foods Pvt Ltd., & Hony. Treasurer - Mr. Sarath Ganegoda, Group Director Hayleys PLC. were elected as Office Bearers. Mr. Shirendra Lawrence, Managing Director, MAS Active (Pvt) Ltd will serve as the Immediate Past Chairman.

The following companies were elected to serve on the Committee for the Year 2016-2017. Ceylon Tobacco Company Plc., Coats Thread Exports (Pvt) Ltd., Finlays Colombo Plc., HSBC Sri Lanka and Maldives, John Keells Holdings PLC, Millennium IT Software (Pvt) Ltd., Oceanpick (Pvt) Ltd, and Qatar Airways.

Head of UK Trade and Investment, British High Commission, Mr. Keith Davies, Director of the British Council and Mr. Romesh David, President, Transportation, John Keells Holdings PLC will serve as invitees.

The event was graced by His Excellency, Mr James Dauris, British High Commissioner for Sri Lanka & Maldives who is also the Patron Member of the Council. In his address, “A starting point is I think, we are an island-nation, as is Sri Lanka and trade will always continue to be of fundamental importance. And ‘trade’ by definition, in Britain’s case and in the case of Sri Lanka means trade across the sea. And certainly, if access to EU markets becomes more difficult, then our trade with other countries around the world will become correspondingly more important. I can say from my perspective, and from my team’s perspective, the Council’s support to us as we pursue our objective of promoting trade investment between our countries is equally important. “ Said H.E.

Congratulating the newly appointed Committee, High Commissioner appreciated the CBB’s role in hosting and facilitating business delegations and said he looks forward to closer involvement with the Council.

Mr Shirendra Lawrence as the out-going Chairman thanked the fellow Council Members and briefed the events done during the year under review.

New Committee 2016-2017

The Council for Business with Britain (CBB) held its 16th Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Friday, 16th July, 2016 at the Westminster House, Colombo 07. His Excellency James Dauris – British High Commissioner graced the occasion.

(Seated L to R) – Roshanie J. Moraes (Committee Member CBB/ John Keells Holdings PLC); Tania Polonnowita Wettimuny (Vice Chairperson CBB/ Hellmann Worldwide Logistics (Pvt) Ltd); His Excellency James Dauris (British High Commissioner); Karim Schadlou (Chairman CBB/ Hilton Colombo Residences) Cherryl Rodrigo (Secretariat CBB / The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce) Ameena Ziauddin (Hon. Secretary CBB /Norfolk Foods (Pvt) Ltd).

(Standing L –R) – Shirendra Lawrence (Immediate Past Chairman CBB/MAS Active (Pvt) Ltd; Douglas Aceiro (Committee Member CBB/ Coats Thread Exports (Pvt) Ltd); Patrick Gallagher (Committee Member CBB/ HSBC Sri Lanka & Maldives); Sarath Ganegoda (Hon. Treasurer CBB /Hayleys PLC); Irfan Thassim (Committee Member CBB/ Oceanpick (Pvt) Ltd); Hunter Crawford (Committee Member/ Finlays Colombo Limited);

Not in the Picture : Micheal Koest (Committee Member CBB/ Ceylon Tobacco Company PLC); Mack Gill (Committee Member/ Millennium IT Software (Pvt) Ltd); Ajay Jacob (Committee Member CBB/ Qatar Airways); Keith Davies (by invitation CBB/British Council); Romesh David ( by invitation - Advisor to CBB/ John Keells Holdings).